Experience and fresh faces on NOPSEMA board

Experienced oil and gas industry executive Ken Fitzpatrick has been reappointed as a member to the Advisory Board of the National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority (NOPSEMA) until March 2022.

Minister for Resources and Northern Australia Matt Canavan welcomed the reappointment, noting Mr Fitzpatrick’s breadth of skills and his current position as chair of the Oil, Gas and Energy Resources Growth Centre.

“With his highly valued expertise in the oil and gas industry Mr Fitzpatrick has made a substantial contribution to the Advisory Board since his initial appointment in 2016.  In a career spanning 30 years, in Australia and overseas, he has held a range of senior positions responsible for drilling, development and production,” Minister Canavan said.

Minister Canavan said Mr Fitzpatrick’s reappointment followed appointments made in January 2019 of two new members to the Board, experienced marine engineer Christopher Blackmore and environmental regulation expert Anthea Tinney PSM.

“These new members have increased the diversity of the NOPSEMA Advisory Board’s range of skills, ensuring it continues to provide high-level policy and strategic advice across a range of topics,” he said.

The Advisory Board provides strategic advice and makes policy recommendations to NOPSEMA, Australia’s independent expert regulator of safety and environmental management for offshore oil and gas activities.

Board members are not involved in NOPSEMA approvals processes or decisions.

The Council of Australian Governments’ Energy Council supported the reappointment of Mr Fitzpatrick, and the appointments of Mr Blackmore and Ms Tinney.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.



get updates